Michael Haag

Michael Haag is a Journalism student at Baylor University in Waco, TX. He is also Sports Editor for the school's student newspaper, the Baylor Lariat. He has covered the 2022 Allstate Sugar Bowl and multiple Texas Sports Hall of Fame induction ceremonies at the site in Waco. Michael has covered Baylor football, men's and women's basketball, baseball and more for the Baylor Lariat. He plans to finish in the spring of 2025 with a bachelor's degree in news-editorial journalism.

By Michael Haag On Sunday, October 16th, 2022

Justin Ashley stampedes Top Fuel field for repeat win at Texas Motorplex

Justin Ashley. Photo courtesy of the NHRA   By Michael Haag  ENNIS, Texas — Coming into the Stampede of Speed Texas NHRA FallNationals at Texas Motorplex, Top Fuel points leader Justin Ashley held a More...

By Michael Haag On Saturday, October 15th, 2022

Prock saddles Top Fuel field with first-ever No. 1 qualifier at Texas NHRA FallNationals

Austin Prock. Photo courtesy of the NHRA   By Michael Haag ENNIS, Texas — Before qualifying began on Friday, NHRA’s youngest Top Fuel driver Austin Prock said it would take a run of 3.68 or 3.67 seconds More...

By Michael Haag On Friday, October 14th, 2022

NHRA’s Ashley looks to widen points margin in the Top Fuel championship race

Justin Ashley. Photo courtesy of the NHRA   By Michael Haag  ENNIS, Texas — Despite being the youngest driver competing in NHRA’s premier Top Fuel Dragster category, Justin Ashley has proved his More...

By Michael Haag On Sunday, September 25th, 2022

Rocky road ahead: NASCAR drivers talk upcoming round, no clear favorite

Kyle Busch, driver of the #18 M&M’s Summering Toyota, and Kyle Larson, driver of the #5 HendrickCars.com Chevrolet, lead the field to start the NASCAR All-Star Race at Texas Motor Speedway on June 13, More...

By Michael Haag On Monday, May 23rd, 2022

Controversial ending sees Ryan Blaney notch first NASCAR All-Star win at Texas Motor Speedway

May 22, 2022; Fort Worth, Texas, USA; NASCAR Cup Series driver Ryan Blaney (12) fires the six-shooters in victory lane after the NASCAR All-Star Race at Texas Motor Speedway in Forth Worth, Texas. Michael C. Johnson   FORT More...