Share this:

" />

Texas Motor Speedway seeking loyal race attendees to take part in Fan Council

by Mike Haag | Posted on Tuesday, February 28th, 2017

FORT WORTH, Texas – Texas Motor Speedway is seeking loyal fans to take part in its Fan Council and provide valuable feedback to speedway officials for further enhancing the race experience.

Beginning today and continuing through March 10, fans can apply for a seat on the Texas Motor Speedway Fan Council by visiting

The Fan Council, which consists of 20 to 30 individuals, will conference with Texas Motor Speedway representatives to discuss various subjects and make proactive recommendations for the benefit of the overall fan base.

Fan Council members will take part in an on-site meeting the week following the speedway’s O’Reilly Auto Parts 500 NASCAR doubleheader weekend set for April 7-9 and the AAA Texas 500 tripleheader on Nov. 2-5. The Fan Council also will meet via teleconference the week following the Rainguard Water Sealers 600 INDYCAR/NASCAR doubleheader on June 8-10.

Members also must complete five e-mail questionnaires over the course of the term to help prepare speedway management for meetings or recaps from a race weekend.

This marks the sixth consecutive year that Texas Motor Speedway has invited a core group of fans to serve as its Fan Council. The initiative, instituted in 2012, has served as an outlet for fans that are passionate about their home track to express their feedback and recommendations.

Texas Motor Speedway has instituted several fan-friendly initiatives as a result of recommendations from the Fan Council, including an improved rainout policy, creation of children’s ticket pricing and race-related perks for season ticket holders.

“The Texas Motor Speedway Fan Council has been a key contributor to our success,” Texas Motor Speedway President Eddie Gossage said. “We continue to strive in improving the fan experience and this group has allowed us to efficiently address areas where we can grow. We work for the fans and this program demonstrates our commitment to ensure we provide the best possible race experience.”

Council seat selections will be made March 14 and members will be notified no later than March 21. Once the term expires, new members will be chosen for the 2018 season.

Story and photo courtesy of Texas Motor Speedway Media Relations

About the Author

Mike Haag has covered motorsports in San Antonio and South Texas for more than 30 years. In addition to working for the San Antonio Express-News for nearly 28 years, Mike also has co-hosted TrackSmack with Dawn Murphy for 15 race seasons. In addition to being a writer, Mike also teaches English at Floresville High School.

Seo wordpress plugin by