Share this:

" />

Texas Motor Speedway announces starts times for 2016 race season

by Mike Haag | Posted on Tuesday, January 26th, 2016

Courtesy of Texas Motor Speedway Media Relations

FORT WORTH – NASCAR officially announced the race start times for its three national series Tuesday and Texas Motor Speedway’s schedule will feature four of its six races in the evening.


Texas Motor Speedway’s opening race weekend – the April 7-9 Duck Commander 500 doubleheader – will be an all-evening affair with the NASCAR XFINITY Series and Sprint Cup Series both running their respective races under the lights.

The XFINITY Series O’Reilly Auto Parts 300 set for Friday, April 8, will start at 7:30 p.m. CT and be broadcast live on FOX Sports 1. The Duck Commander 500, with the third-largest winner’s payout in the Sprint Cup Series for 2015, will follow on Saturday, April 9, beginning at 6:30 p.m. CT and broadcast live on FOX. The Duck Commander 500 will be the network’s first points-paying Saturday night race of the Sprint Cup season.

The Firestone 600 INDYCAR/NASCAR doubleheader June 9-11 also will be an all-evening race weekend that kicks off Friday, June 10, with the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series Rattlesnake 400 at 8 p.m. (FOX Sports 1, live). The weekend culminates on Saturday, June 11, with the Verizon IndyCar Series’ only visit to Texas for the Firestone 600 at 7 p.m. CT (NBC Sports Network, live).

The racing season at Texas Motor Speedway will conclude Nov. 3-6 with the AAA Texas 500 NASCAR tripleheader weekend. The Camping World Truck Series Longhorn 350 on Friday, Nov. 4, will be the only evening race of the weekend with a 7:30 p.m. CT start (FOX Sports 1, live). On Saturday, Nov. 5, the XFINITY Series O’Reilly Auto Parts Challenge will begin at 2:30 p.m. CT.

The AAA Texas 500, the Eliminator 8 Round race that had the largest winner’s payout for the entire 10-race Chase last year, will begin at 1 p.m. CT. Both the O’Reilly Auto Parts Challenge and AAA Texas 500 races will be broadcast live on NBC.

For ticket information, including season tickets beginning as low as $199, visit or call the speedway ticket office at (817) 215-8500.


Fri., April 8 NXS O’Reilly Auto Parts 300 7:30 p.m. FS1 PRN/SiriusXM
Sat., April 9 NSCS Duck Commander
6:30 p.m. FOX PRN/SiriusXM
Fri., June 10 NCWTS Rattlesnake 400 8 p.m. FS1 MRN/SiriusXM
Sat., June 11 VICS Firestone 600 7 p.m. NBCSN IMS Network
Fri., Nov. 4 NCWTS Longhorn 350 7:30 p.m. FS1 MRN/SiriusXM
Sat., Nov. 5 NXS O’Reilly Auto Parts Challenge 2:30 p.m. NBC PRN/SiriusXM
Sun., Nov. 6 NSCS AAA Texas 500 1 p.m. NBC PRN/SiriusXM

*All times CENTRAL. The local radio broadcasts will be aired on the LKCM Radio Group L.P. anchored by 95.9 FM KFWR The Ranch in Fort Worth.




About the Author

Mike Haag has covered motorsports in San Antonio and South Texas for more than 30 years. In addition to working for the San Antonio Express-News for nearly 28 years, Mike also has co-hosted TrackSmack with Dawn Murphy for 15 race seasons. In addition to being a writer, Mike also teaches English at Floresville High School.

Seo wordpress plugin by